Put your email in the box, then comics will come to you!

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Sunday, December 23, 2012

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Cheer Up

no smiles in eastern block countries poland russia

Or even scarier: maybe that IS their smile.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Race of Tongues




Scroll this-a-way ==>

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Comprehension

if you speak one word they'll think you're fluent

Note to self: next time, just ignore and keep walking

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Horizons: Expanded

if you live in a foreign country you get used to weird food

This week's idea comes courtesy of my brother Erik, currently teaching English and chowing on bug parts in Bangkok.

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Limited Creativity, Pt. 1

normal german words sound funny when translated literally
(It means "nipple.")

Continued in part two.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Northern Climates

short summers in the north

Guess I'll just keep this sweater on.

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Coincidence?

cappadocia looks like termite nests


Cappadocia is a real place, and it's amazing. Too bad about the termite problem.

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Anarchy

germans love the rules

This of course being the exact opposite of the way it is in France.

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Sunday, May 20, 2012

So Many Couches

every moroccan house has many salons

I might build a house in Morocco full of saloons, complete with swinging double doors, gambling, and prostitutes. That'd go over real well.

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Common Tongue

it's easier to learn french in morocco than in france

Sometimes it's best to meet halfway. (Village sketch in the top panel by Iain Robinson.)

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Ancient Secret

the secret to staying cool in a djellaba

And the men are all still wearing black leather biker jackets. They must have camel humps somewhere to conserve moisture.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Inshallah

inshallah is a powerful phrase

It's a useful phrase. A useful, infuriating phrase.

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Monday, April 2, 2012

Comment Doodle - Morocco

buses are never too full in morocco


Yesterday was April Fools, and I fooled you good. Unfortunately the fooling will continue, because I'm not gonna translate it.

Today I've got another comment doodle, this time from Tom Mullen's comment on the Maximum Occupancy comic. I do these whenever someone leaves a doodle-worthy comment.

Are your comments doodle-worthy? HUH?

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Sunday, March 11, 2012

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Detergent

indian lassis made in old washing machines

"These lassis taste particularly underwear-y."

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Adventure Shopping

the wonderful, mysterious moroccan souk

=============== A Related Anecdote ===============

The souk is the covered market. It has everything, though it can be a little intimidating the first time. I went there the other day, prepared for some hard bargaining. I was surprised to find the sellers reject my attempts at haggling, and even looking a little hurt at the idea. I learned later that here in Al Hoceima, totally unlike the rest of Morocco, prices are usually fixed, and vendors are unlikely to give tourists an unfair price.

The more you know...

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Sunday, February 5, 2012

A Discerning Palette

i don't understand wine tasting

I'm just no good at wine tasting. Or even pretending.

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Clogged

q-tips are a crucial travel device

Pack light, but don't pack TOO light.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Comment Doodle - San Marino

On my comic on San Marino, reader Fabrizio Bianchi said:

"San Marino is a little patch of land organized as a shelter for Italian tax evaders."

Well, that was enough to give me an idea, so I drew this:

san marino is for italian tax evaders

From now on, I'll have an irregularly-updated section called Comment Doodles. If you comment and it's doodle-worthy, then you better believe it'll be doodled!